Til Only Her Thesis Remained…

That’s right, folks!  As of this moment, the only thing standing between me and my M.A. in English degree is my thesis.  It has been a lot of hard work compounded by life.  In fact, this has been the hardest few months of my life.

My oldest son has been having a lot of health issues.  In March, we discovered he has a large cyst that was causing him a lot of problems and needed surgery.  In April, he had brain surgery.  There is nothing more terrifying than to learn your child has a potentially life-threatening condition.  Without surgery, the pressure from the cyst would most likely have killed him at some point.  With the surgery, he is limited from doing things he enjoys because a blow to the head could kill him.  There is a lot of adjustment going on.

His health issues (which included a week in Chicago and I do not live in Chicago) made school work more challenging than it should have been.  I didn’t have the time or the energy to devote to my work.  I initially wanted to be completely done by now, but something had to give so I chose to push back my thesis work.  I missed a lot of teaching because of being out of town or at various doctor appointments, so I asked that they replace me.  That helped in terms of my work load, but that stress was replaced by anxiety over money.  I am thrilled to say that his surgery went well and he is ok.  This is something he will need to monitor for the rest of his life, though.

I ended the semester with a 3.7 GPA.  Not too shabby considering the other stuff I was going through.

Now that school is over for the most part, it’s time to get back into the swing of things.  My poor blog has been mostly forgotten about.  I have some new projects in the works and some major changes coming up.  Hopefully, I’ll have a lot of good news to be sharing.  After the first of the year, I plan on getting back to my interviews, so if you’ve been missing Author Corner, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

I might also spend time lamenting that Hollywood, not content with simply systematically destroying my childhood, is now working to destroy my life in its entirety with their horrible remake schedule.  I’m no screenwriter, but I’m reasonably certain that I could be doing a better job of things.

And, of course, I will be updating periodically on my thesis.  My goal is to have my proposal approved this summer so that I can start my revisions.

Have a happy weekend!

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a comment