The Importance of Planning

I have arrived at the first significant roadblock of my garden.  Of all the plants I had my heart set on, the vast majority of them are not hardy in my growing zone.  Because of course they’re not.  This is why I am spending so much time planning.  The plants I had chosen are not cheap, and while I could always just treat them like annuals, they are way too expensive to replace every year.  Also, I thought I could create some shade space so I could plant some gorgeous Japanese painted ferns.  Yeah, no.  No, that’s not going to work because of where my garden is situated.  So, I will have to come up with a new garden theme.  Thanks, Obama!

On the upside, I can still have some of the plants.  Tulips, hyacinths, and my vines will grow just fine here.  The trick is to find amazing plants to flower through the summer and fall.  To that end, I think I’m going to go with a dragon garden theme.  I’m not entirely sure what this is going to look like yet, but I won’t have to be so rigid in the plants I choose.  At least that’s the theory.

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a Reply

