The End is Nigh

The end of the semester is nearly upon me, which is both good and bad.  It’s good because I’ll be done.  It’s bad because I still have an 8-10 page paper to write, it’s due tomorrow, and I can’t find the sources I need.  So, whilst I stress over this thing, I thought I would share some of the work I’ve been doing over the semester in poetry workshop.  Here is the first piece.

 

Naked is One Consideration Under the Orange Tree

 

She never wanted to let me be—

she constantly molded me

I let her

 

It was easier to drown in

the tidal wave of her

personality

 

that washed away every distinction

not clinging desperately to coral skeletons

weary seaweed

 

Having Faith meant having faith that

I could ignite like citrus and cinnamon

a candle at Christmastime

 

I couldn’t stop looking at the pictures

Yellowed paper behind yellowed glass

My skin so much paler

 

from exposure to the sun

memories frozen like fish in a shallow pond

I saw the dangling hook

 

waited to feel its piercing

taste the penny coated

steel

 

The wind blows, shaking the trees

oranges sway like tumorous

ornaments

 

I take one down, rip the flesh with my teeth

leaving the peels behind

me

 

It was pointed out to me that the bulk of my work, whether fiction, creative nonfiction, or poetry, deals with the structures of power–who has it, who doesn’t, and the conflicts that come from that.  I do focus a lot on interpersonal relationships, but it never occurred to me that it was the power dynamic that I was focusing on.  Hooray for workshops!  So, in this piece, the power dynamic is between two friends.  I’ll post another piece tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

