Brining the Turkey and Ferguson

Last night, I prepared the brine for my turkey.  Because my bird is usually over 20 pounds, I end up with over 4 gallons of brine plus 22 pounds of ice to go in the brine, plus the weight of the bird (23 pounds this year), plus the weight of the cooler it gets to chill out in.  It will soak from Monday evening until Thursday morning.

So, why am I talking about holiday preparations at the same time as I bring up the Ferguson grand jury decision?  I guess it’s to bring home the point that life goes on…and maybe, just maybe, it shouldn’t.

I’m not going to offer much commentary on the decision.  I don’t have nearly enough information.  To offer up an opinion one way or the other would be irresponsible, so I’m not going to do that.  Instead, I’m going to offer up a statement of fact: black lives matter.

As a white woman, I can’t even begin to wrap my head around the bullshit people of color have to deal with.  Intellectually, I know the bullshit exists.  I can admit, though, that I don’t always “see” it.  This has to stop.

THE BULLSHIT HAS TO STOP, PEOPLE.

We, as individuals, as communities, as a nation, have to find a way to rise above our prejudices, our ignorance.  I’m sick of seeing people die.

We all have the potential to offer something great to our world, so why the fuck are we limiting ourselves?

Black lives matter.

Gay lives matter.

Immigrant lives matter.

Women’s lives matter.

WE ALL FUCKING MATTER.

It’s time to start acting like it.

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a Reply

