Thanksgiving Planning

One of my favorite holidays is Thanksgiving.  When I was a kid, I loved it because of all the food we got to eat for a week after the fact.  As I got older, I loved it also because of the eating but also because I love to cook the feast.  Love it.  This is not ironic.  So, even though it is not yet Halloween, I have started planning for the dinner.  We should have a pretty big group of family and friends this year, so I will probably start baking on the Tuesday before and cook all the way up to serving time.

Thanksgiving Dinner Menu (so far)

  1. Turkey, although Joe wants to try deep frying a second turkey to see how it turns out.  If you’ve never had my brined turkey, you are missing out.
  2. Ham. Joe likes to smoke a bone-in ham. I save the bone for bean soup later.
  3. Chicken and noodles
  4. Garlic mashed potatoes
  5. Sweet potato casserole
  6. Green bean casserole
  7. Stuffing
  8. Turkey gravy
  9. Homemade cranberry sauce
  10. Homemade baked beans
  11. Deviled eggs
  12. Veggies and dip
  13. Dinner rolls
  14. Lemon meringue pie
  15. Oatmeal pie
  16. Pumpkin pie
  17. Something sweet that isn’t pie. I haven’t decided whether that will be a cake of some sort, brownies, or cookies.

I keep feeling like I’m missing something.  Have a suggestion for the menu?  Let me know in the comments.

2 comments on “Thanksgiving Planning

  1. Lisa Hull says:

    I always mix water and flour til smooth then add it to the turkey juice and while it’s thickening I add a little bit of garlic powder, season salt and pepper. you can still add the packet too.

    Like

    • Erin R Britt says:

      Yeah, the packet makes a decent amount of gravy unless you pour it all over everything. I think I”m just going to make two different types of gravy this year so we finally have enough.

      Like

Leave a Reply

