No, I’m Not Dead…Yet

It’s hard to believe that my last post was in July.  As you’ve probably noticed by now, when life starts to get hectic, my blogging drops off.  Something has to give somewhere and, unfortunately, this is usually where the give happens.  I only have two more semesters left and then I will be finished with my Masters degree. <insert applause here>  Since I’m doing a creative thesis based on a story I’ve already written, I’m actually in pretty good shape as far as that goes.  I need to add 2-7 pages of content and revise what I already have.  This semester, I’m taking a literature class and a poetry workshop.  Next semester, I’ll take another literature class, a creative nonfiction workshop, and then defend my thesis.  I’m looking forward to not being a student.

Graduating doesn’t mean leaving the campus life, however.  I’m thrilled to announce that I’ve left the computer labs and have accepted my first teaching position at our local community college.  I told someone once, when they asked me what I intended to do with my life, that I was never leaving college.  Now I don’t have to.  I’ve spent the last few weeks preparing for the two classes I’ll be teaching this semester.  No, that’s not a typo.  I’m teaching two different 8 week classes that meet twice a week for 2 hours and 45 minutes a class.  They’re also back to back.  On the days when I take classes.  Oh yeah, this will be fun.  Except I think it really will be.  The classes are small and I have the same students for both, which means I’m going to get a good opportunity to get to know them.

Except for poetry, I haven’t really written anything.  I’ve got research sitting around for a new book and I still need to finish Enraptured. The danger with writing is that it’s so easy to push to the side when life starts being Life.  I have friends who say, “Screw you, Life. I’m writing whether you like it or not!” and I have so much respect for those people.  I’d like to be them when I grow up.  Unfortunately for me, I can’t always do that and the rest of the time, I just don’t do that.  I’m not even going to lie about it.  Self-awareness, I think, is a good thing.

A new book comes out today that I think you should know about.  Little Dead Riding Hood is part of the Scarily Ever Laughter series by Bethanie and Amie Borst.  Should you pick up this little gem (and hey, why not pick up Cinderskella while you’re at it), you might notice I made it into the dedication page.  I may or may not have contributed to the punniness of the book.  Ok, I contributed.  Really, if you need groan-worthy puns for your current work in progress, I’m your chick.

download

Leave a Reply

