Leaving On A Jetplane

In just over twelve hours, I’ll be leaving for the airport to start my Seattle trip and to attend my first AWP conference.  In the event that my plane crashes and I die a horrible, fiery death, I’d like to thank you all for your readership.  

images

 

I’ll be leaving my house at 5 am tomorrow morning.  As I’ve thought this ungodly time of day over, I’ve realized that early morning is a lot like picking someone up at the bar.  Sure, going to bed together might sound like a good time, but waking up together is probably not going to end well.  I think I have everything packed up and ready to go.  This means I have inevitably left something out of my bag and that thing will almost certainly be important.

I’m not all that concerned about flying.  I usually enjoy it.  In preparation for impending fiery death, I have consumed lots of Mt. Dew.  That may sound strange, but the Dew contains Brominated Vegetable Oil which is used as a flame retardant.  I figure since I can’t wear my asbestos pjs on the plane, this will have to do.

I am a little nervous about going through security.  My last flight was before 9/11, so I haven’t had the pleasure yet.  Hopefully, my blue hair isn’t going to be an issue.  If you aren’t connected to me on Facebook, this is what you’re missing out on.

2012-01-31 19.20.30

 

I was going to make it my normal color before flying out, but look at it.  My cerulean locks are glorious!  TSA will just have to deal with it.  I refreshed the color on Friday, so last night was my first time washing it since the newest application.  I was at my boyfriend’s house and his tub doesn’t drain very quickly.  I looked like I was bathing in the blood of 99 Smurfs.

Smeagol knows something’s up.  He’s being a jerkface to me.  I shall buy my way back into his good graces with Fancy Feast Kitten Formula.

Some cool news for those same people who aren’t connected to me on Facebook (Seriously, why aren’t you connected to me?):  I was listed as recommended fiction by Pittsburgh Writer.  There’s a badge on the sidebar, so give it a clickity click if you’re feeling so inclined and check out Celia if you haven’t and find some new reading material.  I’m sure every author listed will appreciate you taking the time to stop by.  Additionally, I just received an email saying that I’ve had a paper accepted for publication at my university’s Graduate Research Journal.  My editor will be contacting me soon, so that’s exciting.  Hopefully, this makes me look slightly more attractive as a possible future First Year Writing professor.

Dark chocolate espresso candies are amazing.  Really, there’s no reason to mention this except that they’re amazing.  Also, I’m eating them right now.  

So, I’ll be gone until March 2nd.  In the event I escape horrible, fiery death due to my consumption of Mt. Dew, I’ll see you all then.  

Leave a Reply

