Slowing Down For A Bit

Last year was a pretty hectic year for me.  Between weekly interviews, writing the interviews (every interview is tailored to the guest, you know), graduating from college, starting grad school, plus all the other things life throws, I was pretty stressed out.  It was a great year, to be sure, but stressful nonetheless.  This year, I’m dialing it back a few notches.  I’m still doing interviews, but I’m not killing myself to make sure that I have a new guest every week.  If you’re wanting an interview, go ahead and contact me and we can get that scheduled.  I’m still doing book reviews.  This is easier said than done with my class/work schedule, but I am chipping away at things.  I’m not actively looking for books right now, but if you’re dying to find out what I think about something, get a hold of me and we’ll talk.  Don’t laugh.  It’s happened, I swear.  Stop laughing!

One big thing is I will be in Seattle next week for AWP.  I’m flying out on Monday so that I have time to see the sights and meet up with friends before immersing myself in panels, seafood, and copious amounts of alcohol.  Who am I kidding?  I’ll probably have two drinks the whole time I’m there.  Inspired by my friend, Brent Michael Kelley, I’ll be keeping a travel journal and taking lots of pictures.  Those should pop up on here sometime after I get back.  

Smeagol is good.  The vet says he’s around 15 weeks old and 6 pounds.  My baby panther kitty.  He’s not happy about my upcoming trip.

What do you mean I have a "cat sitter?"

What do you mean I have a “cat sitter?”

On a positive note, my legs are beginning to heal and I no longer look like someone is trying to feed me into a chipper shredder on a daily basis.  Several friends suggested I watch “My Cat From Hell“, so I started watching it last night.  I’m already feeling much better about my little writing buddy because he is nowhere near as bad as some of those cats.  There are some things I plan on doing for him which should also help, but it’ll be a process.  Thanks, Jackson Galaxy!

I’ve been writing!  No, it’s not Enraptured.  Still, words on the page = progress.  I wrote a short dark fairy tale for class that actually turned out pretty great.  I’ll be seeing what I can do with it at some point in the future.  I’ll have at least 2 more longer short pieces drafted by the end of May.  

Charlie is great.  He’s sad because I don’t have many guests over any more, but he loves Smeagol.  I thought about bringing him to Seattle with me, but I’m not sure I can get a corpse through airport security without a lot of embarrassing questions and at least one body cavity search.  

I hope to interview for a teaching position on campus for next fall.  At the end of this semester I’ll have enough credits to teach in the first year writing program, so wish me luck on that.  And patience.  Wish me luck and patience.  And possibly medication.

I’ve been researching Creative Writing Ph.D. programs.  There aren’t a lot of them near where I live, so that’s going to be interesting.  I’m not looking forward to a 3 hour round trip commute, especially  when I live on Hoth, but I’ll do what I need to do to finally be done with school.

See you guys when I get back!

2 comments on “Slowing Down For A Bit

  1. Amanda says:

    I’m so jealous that you are going to AWP! I hope you have fun and come back with lots of interesting stories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

