Author Corner–Lucy Crowe

E: Welcome to Erindipity, Lucy!  Did you bring me anything?  It’s been awhile since someone has brought me anything.  You did, right?

L: Hi Erin! Thanks so much for having me! I hope you’re a rum drinker because I brought you the best – Captain and Coke. Here’s a toast to all of us hard-working authors – cheers!

As it happens, I do like rum.  I like it very much.

E: Your book is called Sugar Man’s Daughter.  What can you tell us about it?

L: Well, “Sugar Man’s Daughter” has its share of demons, both real and imagined, but it is not a horror novel. It has more to do with confronting those demons and becoming stronger. My main character is a woman who has recently returned to her childhood home, the Sugar Inn, after a miscarriage and the dissolution of what had once been a promising relationship. Of course the inn is haunted! But the main story line – without giving too much away – has more to do with an abuse victim facing her past, scraping up the courage to pursue her dream career, and maybe even falling in love.

E: Where did you come up with the idea for the book?

L: Oh, it’s been percolating away in my brain forever!  I think the first little bubble floated to the surface several years ago when I was watching – don’t laugh! – an episode of The Golden Girls, where Dorothy was writing a letter to her deceased father. That got my attention – what would you write? And so, I actually built my story from that foundation. My character sat down, wrote a letter to her dead father, and we went on from there.

E: This is your debut novel, right?  What has your author journey been like so far?

L: My author journey has pretty much been a life-long proposition, lol. I wrote my first full-length novel in high school, and my mother typed the whole thing out for me. Back in the day. Before computers. When my daughter was an infant, I actually had a publisher on the hook! But then my son came along, and life got very, very busy for quite some time, and that novel was laid aside. This latest chapter in my author journey has been the most fascinating. I’m learning so much about networking and marketing – which is not at all as I had anticipated. As it turns out, the writing of a novel is actually the easy part! But I’ve been blessed to have found Lyle at Rainstorm Press, and I now have a college-age daughter who is very marketing-savvy, so we are working through this!

E: Are you currently working on any new projects?

L: Oh yes, I am pretty much always working on a project! I’m currently pecking away at the sequel to “Sugar Man”, which involves working a little more closely with some of the minor characters, giving them their own spotlight. It’s fun to see the stronger personalities emerging.

E: Who are some of your writing influences?

L: I think anyone I’ve ever read has had an influence – good, bad or indifferent. Of course, The Greats probably carried the most weight for me – Steinbeck, Harper Lee, the Brontes. Solid characters and lovely description – these authors didn’t scrimp on words, which is something we are all too often urged to do as writers.  Modern day? Oh, the list is endless, but James Lee Burke sits at the top, followed by Elizabeth George, and, on the lighter side, Janet Evanovich and Charlaine Harris.

E: What is the best piece of advice you have gotten so far about the publishing industry?

L: Lol! Keep trying, I suppose! It’s a tough market, and you have to have a thick skin. There will be rejections!

E: It’s very difficult to find information about you and your book.  Apparently, there is a soprano by the same name.  (Sopranos are icky, but that’s a blog post for another time.)  (Go alto or go home!)  What are the best ways to find you?

L: I know! Silly soprano with the same name as me! But I’m truly hoping that anyone who is searching for me knows that I’m an author, lol.  If you Google “Lucy Crowe, author” or “author Lucy Crowe” I pop right up!  But I do have links, thanks for asking! Here is my website  and my Facebook page.  I am currently in the process of updating my status on Goodreads to author (so exciting!) since my novel only just came out, and “Sugar Man” is available in Kindle on Amazon, with the paperback very soon to follow!  So, I can be found easily at any of the above!

Thanks so much for having me, Erin! This has been fun!

And remember, if you’ve found a page about an icky a very talented soprano, you’ve gone to the wrong page.

Leave a Reply

