Recommend It Monday–Written in Red by Anne Bishop

Yes, I know.  I’ve been remiss in doing RIM lately.  Mostly because I haven’t had a lot of time to sit and read something.  However, when taking my son to the library on Saturday, I saw there was a new Anne Bishop novel out.  I had to grab it.  And then I proceeded to devour it.

Written in Red is a new realm.  I love the Dark Jewels books and the Ephemera books, so I wasn’t too worried about starting this new series.  Overall, I really enjoyed the book and I’m looking forward to more books in the series.  My only complaint about it was the location names.  More times than not, I found myself going, “Ugh.  Really?”  But that was my only real complaint.  Bishop has a way of making me invested in her characters.  I also liked her treatment of the usual “other” tropes: vampires, werewolves, etc.

This is more realistic fantasy than her other books, and I thought that was an interesting change for her.  If you’re not big on the usual fantasy books, consider giving this series a go.

Leave a Reply

