Author Corner–Robert DiBella

E: Welcome to Erindipity, Robert.  Did you bring me a tribute?

R: Thanks for having me. I hope whiskey counts as a tribute.

For future reference, I prefer my alcohol to come in margarita or rum form.  However, there is a certain angry cat that I can make an offering to.

563210_10200278129028870_372722537_n

 

E: You had a book just come out earlier this year?  What can you tell us about it?

R: It’s called “Memoir of a Variable”. It is the story of X, an assassin for the CIA’s organization Grey Sector. X has been a professional hitman for ten years, and he starts to have doubts about who he has been killing. When the CIA tasks him to kill the outspoken liberal daughter of a conservative Senator, X decides to go rouge by protecting the girl, and turns the tables on the CIA.

51ykTpgotLL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

E: What was your process like?

R: Once I get an idea in my head, I tend to sleep on it for a while then jump right into the story. I don’t have a plan or organizer. I get all my ideas out on paper, then go back and see what needs to be changed. 

E: As a newly published writer, what are some things you’ve learned that you wish you knew before you started the process?

R: How long it takes to properly edit and revise your work. When I finished my first book, I was so excited to get it out there I sent it out to close to a hundred publishers and agents without thoroughly looking over what I wrote.

E: Are you currently working on anything?

R: Yes, I am working on “Ten Names” (Working Title), the sequel to “Memoirs of a Variable”. I am also working on a comedic story called “Who at the Garden” about a father and son going to a concert at Madison Square Garden. I also have a piece coming out in the Rainstorm Press Author Anthology, titled “Man from Ino”. A suspenseful story about a young man stranded on Molokai, a Hawaiian leper colony during the 1870’s.   

E: Do you have any upcoming events, such as book signings, etc?

R: I will be doing a reading and book signing at the Mineola Public Library in Mineola, New York. The date and time are still being determined, follow my Facebook page or on Twitter for more information.  

E: What drew you to writing?  Was it something you’ve always wanted to do, or did you come by it later in life?

R: I feel like I always wanted to do this. I remember playing with action figures and GI Joes with my cousins and my friends, and always making up crazy stories for our games. I didn’t really start writing until my senior year in high school. My twelfth grade English teacher would let us write fictional stories instead of doing essays, and those were the only papers I enjoyed writing. When I got to Molloy College, I took a playwriting class and really took a liking to it, that class inspired me to take writing seriously and commit to it.

E: Who are some of your favorite authors and what was the last book you read?

R: The last book I read was “007 Carte Blanche” by Jeffery Deaver. Some of my favorite authors are Tom Clancy, Elie Wiesel, Sharon Shebar, Robert Langdon, and Stephen King. I love reading about history, espionage, and the super natural.    

You can find out more information about Robert’s book signing on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

