Guest Blogger Brent Kelley

You are in for a special treat today.  Brent Kelley, author of Chuggie and the Desecration of Stagwater, has dropped by to tell you about his newest Chuggie book, Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways, and to tell you about this amazing thing he’s doing.  So, let’s welcome Brent back to Erindipity.  You have the floor, sir.

bmk author photo

He’ll get you, my pretties, and his little dog, too.

***

Howdy, Folks! It’s me, your old pal BMK.  Why should you read this guest post? Great question! You’re clearly wise beyond your years, and everyone should listen to your ideas all the time. But let me answer the question, not dance around it for ten paragraphs and then never address it. You should read this because I’m going to tell you about my new book, Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways. And then I’m going to make an announcement that will make you want to buy it this very second.

Chug FrontCover-4x6

I started writing about my buddy Chuggie back in college. I think it was 2002, but I’ve been wrong before. Over the next several years, I managed to build a story around Chuggie. In 2011, I was fortunate enough to have Chuggie and the Desecration of Stagwater published by Omnium Gatherum Media. Chuggie is part of a bigger story, and I’ve named the series Mischief, Mayhem, Want, and Woe.

Mischief, Mayhem, Want, and Woe describe four characters who happen to be walking calamities. Fire, Sickness, Drought, and Flood. Chuggie is the embodiment of Drought, and his word is Want. In his own words, “It means I’m poor. Means something’s missing. Means I fall short.”

Chuggie’s sister Wildfire likes a little Mischief. She isn’t out to hurt anybody, but she can be a tad careless. We get to meet her in Bleeding Gateways. Chuggie’s other sister is the embodiment of Flood. She is, naturally, full of Woe. We haven’t met her yet. Last is Brother Sickness. He’s all about Mayhem, and we haven’t met him yet, either. They’ll all have their own stories to tell. My hope is, in the coming years, I’ll get clacking on the ol’ type-o-tron and get those stories down.

Here’s the synopsis for Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways:

“Chuggie, the perpetually intoxicated embodiment of drought, returns for another adventure in Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways. It’s been five days since the Desecration of Stagwater, and our hero has work to do. With the help of some ghostly new cronies, he searches for a lost little boy, explores a new world, and does his drunken best to avoid the clutches of pursuing Steel Jacks. What are the secrets of the bone dagger he carries? What allies and enemies will he find in the wilderness? Where will he get more booze? In the second installment of Mischief, Mayhem, Want, and Woe, Brent Michael Kelley takes us through the Bleeding Gateways to the strange horrors beyond.”

Do you want to read it yet? You look a little interested, so let me sweeten the stew. Ha! Stew! That’s funny because there’s some stew in Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways. I can say no more on the stew, but if you like stew, you’re gonna like THIS stew. But that’s all just me dancing around the whatever before I make the announcement.

I’m going to South Africa for three weeks! Just kidding. But not really. I really AM going to South Africa. Leaving next week. That’s not the announcement, though. The real announcement is…

I’m donating half of my royalties to the American Cancer Society. For the first year, every cent I make from Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways is getting chopped in half. One half is going into my pocket so I can take care of my one-year-old. The other half is joining the fight against cancer. I hate cancer. I’m guessing you do, too, so buy lots of copies. Tell everyone else to buy lots of copies. The more copies you buy, the more cash we raise to fight stupid cancer. If you help spread the word, you’ll be rewarded in Valhalla! (Oh, and you’ll also be rewarded by getting to read Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways. I think it turned out pretty good.)

Chuggie is a foul-mouthed drunk. He says and does awful things. His stories are not for children. And cancer shouldn’t be, either. If Chuggie can raise some money for fighting cancer, though, I’ll be one happy author.

Thanks for reading this post all the way to the end, folks. I’d hug you if I could. Chuggie and the Bleeding Gateways will be available Friday, June 14. It’s also available for pre-order.

***

Thanks, Brent.  Pre-order your copy today to get the second book in a great series and help kids get that much closer to the cure.  Haven’t read the first one, yet?  Not a problem.  You can find Chuggie and the Desecration of Stagwater on Amazon.  If you’d like to get ahold of him, you can find him loitering on his website or on his Facebook page.  You can even tell him you saw it here.  Spread the word, get a great book, and raise funds to fight cancer.  What a great way to spend your day.

Leave a Reply

