Ebooks vs Tradition Print

I have a lot of ebooks waiting to be read.  I’ve tried to read them.  I just can’t do it.  It’s not the quality of the book.  I read Game of Thrones in hardback and devoured it.  I tried to read Clash of Kings on ebook, and I’m lucky if I got halfway through it.  Ebooks feel…wrong.  I don’t judge.  In fact, my book Celia is available in ebook format.  The ebooks I have read I’ve had to force myself to finish because the format just wasn’t working for me.  What about you?  Do you have any preferences?  Are you OCD like I am in the preferences department and actually have a hierarchy of preferences?  For any given book, I will choose them (based on availability) in the following order: hardcover, paperback, ebook.  Although, if I’m honest, if the ebook is all that’s available, I’ll probably wait for one of the other two formats to free up.  I always go for hardcover first, though.  I do like how I can have so many books saved up on my Nook so I always have something to read.  I don’t have the physical space to house all the books I want to have.  It’s not the staring at the screen as it is the inability to turn a page.  Swiping a screen is not the same as physically turning a page.  The sound the page makes.  The smell of them.  The way the page feels in your hand.  All of that is missing with electronic reading and for me, personally, I think that’s a deal breaker.  I need a bigger office.

2 comments on “Ebooks vs Tradition Print

  1. Susan Dorsey says:

    I can do ebooks – I have no problem swiping the screen. My problem comes from the fact that I will load up the kindle with books to read and then promptly forget about them because they aren’t piled on my nightstand or coffee table.

    Like

  2. I prefer ebooks, because I have arthritis in my hands and wrists and big books are too painful to hold now. When I try to read a printed book now, I catch myself touching the pages to try to turn them. The one thing I don’t like is that sometimes when I close the cover of my Nook for just a moment, the cover touches the screen somehow and it loses my place by a page or two. #firstworldproblems

    Like

Leave a Reply

