I Love Words

Seriously, I love words.  I have the artistic ability of a cat on meth, so I’ll never be able to paint an awe inspiring landscape or paint a portrait that looks straight into your soul.  I have words, though.  I think of them as crayons.  The more words I learn, the bigger my box of crayons gets, and really, who doesn’t love crayons?

Several weeks ago, I discovered a new word: zugzwang.  It looks funny and it sounds funny, but there are many times in my life where I have been in this position (and not in a chess game).  Not moving isn’t an option, but all of the options you do have are bad in varying degrees.  No matter what you do, you’re going to take some damage.  You can’t ignore it.  You can’t avoid it.  All you can do is choose the best of the worst options, take your lumps, and keep on going.  Obviously, this is my definition as it applies to life.  It has more rigid and official definitions within game theory.  This word called out to me and I decided to make it my own.

I'm glad this isn't Victorian times. I could get stoned for showing you this. And by stoned, I mean people would chuck rocks at me. Rocks hurt.  Screw that.

I’m glad this isn’t Victorian times. I could get stoned for showing you my ankle. And by stoned, I mean people would chuck rocks at me. Rocks hurt. Screw that.

In chess, the best I could hope for is a draw, but in life, I could still yet win.  The trick is to keep on playing.

