Enraptured and Scrivener

Ok, so I want to start off by saying I am not being paid to endorse Scrivener, but if you know how I could make that happen, let me know.

When a friend suggested the program to me, I was skeptical.  I’ve messed around with other writing programs before and they always seemed like they were more hassle than they were worth.  However, he said there was a free trial, and I do love me some free stuff, so I thought I’d give it a go.  I love this program.  I had already started Enraptured back in November for NaNoWriMo, so I plugged in what I had and played around with it.  I love how easy it is to move things, and to reference things.  I really do love this program.

The initial feedback for Enraptured has been pretty positive so far.  Most of my writer friends finish an entire draft before they start looking for readers, but I have a pretty workshop-heavy background where I only workshop beginnings of stories, or specific chapters in books.  I’ve gotten used to showing off incomplete works and basing future writing on current feedback.  The thought of finishing an entire manuscript with no feedback really makes me uncomfortable.  So, at 26 pages in, I sent it to some friends of mine.

The general consensus is that it’s rather creepy.  Considering the amount of horror writers I count as friends, I shall take that as a compliment.  It even creeped out Charlie, and he’s dead.  It’s a multiple POV piece, but each view shift is a new chapter, so no one has mentioned having any problems following it yet.  In fact, the one person who has finished going through the draft likes that choice.  The book moves between four perspectives, so it shouldn’t get too difficult to navigate.

Since I’m writing it in Scrivener instead of Word, I get an overview of the entire manuscript as I write.  It’s very easy to jump to specific sections to see what I wrote.  Moving content is as simple as grabbing a file and dragging it to a new location.  I’ve already used that feature, and the thought of doing the same thing in Word makes my head hurt.

3 comments on “Enraptured and Scrivener

  1. Mikael says:

    I liked Scrivener too, especially for the overview options. But you can get that in Word, if you use the headings options. Plus, word’s processor is more powerful by a longshot when it comes to formatting.

    Like

    • Erin R Britt says:

      There is that. Still, I like being able to reorder things by dragging a file. Plus, it keeps resources, notes, etc. handy. I posted some tarot spreads a few weeks back about this current project, and with Scrivener I can save those webpages into my resources folder so I don’t have to search for them on here. There’s a lot to like about it, but if you’re a Word person, by all means, do that. Whatever it takes to get the book written.

      Like

      • Mikael says:

        True, doesn’t really matter what the process is, as long as there’s a product at the end. Also, I did really enjoy the research saving options. Switching between browsers and word is a pain, not to mention the mess of bookmarks I end up with.

        Like

Leave a Reply

