What Happens When the Lights Go Out?

Why, we take our final exam in the dark.  Apparently, there was an accident yesterday afternoon that took out power to half of the city, campus included.  I did my best to convince my Professor that final exams were overrated anyway, and surely this was a sign that we didn’t really need one.  He didn’t buy it anymore than you just did.  So, we opened the blinds, sat with the lights out, and took our final.  I do feel I am adequately qualified to discuss with you, at length, Judith Butler’s theory of gender performativity and all of the many ways it is illustrated through Shakespeare’s comedies, how racism is inextricably entwined with Othello, the colonialism rampant in The Tempest, and how Elizabethan England had a seriously messed up world view and how that totally harshed Hamlet’s mellow.

Because there were no lights, there was also no awards ceremony last night.  I’m not sure when that will be rescheduled, or if it will be rescheduled, but it’s ok.  I also finally tracked down my honors cords.  I don’t know what makes me more proud: that I earned the cords or that I figured out how to properly wear the cords.  They came with an instruction card.  Yes, it was that complicated.

Today is my last day of work before I get two glorious weeks of vacationy bliss.  I’m spending the weekend with my small men, and then on Monday it’s back to work on Enraptured.  I’m starting to get nasty emails about its lack of completedness.  Someone even threatened to withhold pie.  Shit just got real.

2 comments on “What Happens When the Lights Go Out?

  1. Pamla says:

    The witholding of pie…. The sign of desperation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

