Recommend It Monday–Mistresses of the Macabre

Today on Recommend It Monday, I read Mistresses of the Macabre, edited by Lori Michelle.  This all-female collection offered a wide range of stories, from a hand that won’t obey to a battered housewife who is saved by a giant spider.

First, the introduction by Angel Leigh McCoy was fabulous.  If I had to say what the strongest portion of the collection was, it was hands-down the intro.  It was smart and full of sobering statistics.  My favorite story out of the 18 was “Playdate.”  It was very short, and that made me sad, but I loved the premise of it, and I think it was really well done.  The stories, for the most part were more unsettling than anything.  “Out with the Old” read a lot like the movie, The Skeleton Key, starring Kate Hudson, only for one person instead of a couple.  Had I not seen the movie, I probably would have loved that story as well.  It’s a relatively fast read.  The stories range from very short to moderate length.

I love the concept of an all-female collection like this.  On a scale of 1 to 5, I’d give the overall collection a 3.  There were some great spots in it, but there were other spots that really didn’t do it for me.  Maybe you’ll disagree.  Give it a read and let me know your thoughts on it.

 

Leave a Reply

