Combating Burnout

It’s been a very long time since I’ve gone on an actual vacation.  Between school, my new job, being a mom, and trying to write something more complex than a grocery list (that I promptly leave on the table instead of taking with me), my brain feels like goo.  I have an office where I work on new projects or on homework, but I swear someone put in a revolving door when I wasn’t looking.  If it’s not family, it’s a dog…or three.  Or the tv is on at top volume.  Or the Xbox is going.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t write if I can’t think, and I can’t think when I have all this stimuli because I have the attention span of a gnat.  I need to get away.

I had this crazy idea that for a week (or maybe two) this summer, I’m going to try to get away.  No kids, no mate, no pets, no distractions.  I want to be in the middle of no where with my reference books and my computer.  I want to be able to take a walk in the woods (provided I can find my way back. I tend to get lost) or read without interruption.  Because the best time to ask me something is always when I have a book in my hands.  I want to be able to write more than three sentences without someone bothering me about something.  I’m craving solitude.

I have no ideas, as of yet, where I would go.  If I get accepted to the Yale Writers’ Conference, I’ll do that instead.  I won’t be alone, but I’ll be surrounded by other writers who “get” it.  But if I don’t (and I’m nothing if not realistic), I want to take a trip by myself, for myself, and recharge my batteries.  What do you guys do when you feel like bacon too long in the frying pan?

One comment on “Combating Burnout

  1. Diane says:

    Erin,
    I understand what you are going through. Nothing like, “Mom!” to completely blow a thought process. I used to do my homework after the kids (3) went to bed. I had 3 dogs and a cat and a kid with ODD (oppositional defiant disorder). I was a single mom at the time. Somehow… I went to school full time, worked part time and got an associate degree in electronic technology. Now… the kids are grown but I can only take 1 class a semester because my full time job interferes with school. What I am trying to say is when you look back at what you accomplished, you won’t know how you did it. You are a strong determined person. Maybe if you can’t get away … send the kids to summer camp for a week or more. Hang in there… it will get easier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

