Recommend It Monday–Falling Behind

17-hmeI’ve been reading Servant of the Bones by Anne Rice since my last post.  I should mention here that this is the first book I’ve read by Rice, although I am aware of several books by her.  I just haven’t read them.  It’s not that the book is bad.  It has some fabulously rich descriptions and all of the backstory is interesting.

Of course, Azriel is perfection on two legs, so that doesn’t hurt either.  It just doesn’t grab my attention.  I can read it for about 30 minutes at a time, and then I get bored and look for something else to do.  I’m not invested in Azriel.  It’s unfortunate that he was basically boiled to death in a vat of melted gold like some sort of man-soup, and while I can readily agree that that would suck, I don’t really care.  I realize that makes me sound horrible, but there you have it.  It really bothers me not to finish a book once I’ve started it, so I would really like to finish it.  I may give up on this one, though, so I can move on with my list.

On my latest trip to the library, I picked up Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin.  I’ve been told by several people I should be reading this book, so I’m pretty hopeful.  Fantasy is my go-to genre, though.  It’s my first choice to read when I have a choice, so I’m cautiously optimistic about it.  I really hope it’s one of those books that grabs me.

I would really like to be able to start reading some of my Rainstorm Press authors.  They have some amazing sounding books out.

4 comments on “Recommend It Monday–Falling Behind

  1. Pamla says:

    With me and Anne Rice, it was hit or miss. Although, I loved her Vampire Lestat series. I think she weaves a better story with the vampires…you do get drawn into their family and their trials and tribulations. Interview with a Vampire was good, but I liked Queen of the Damned and Tales of the Body Thief much better.

    Like

  2. Lily Wight says:

    Bones probably isn’t the best place to start. The Vampire Chronicles or The Mayfair Witch Saga are what I think of as “classic Rice” – although they can be a tough read. Rice’s prose isn’t to everyone’s taste.
    I quite enjoyed her latest on werewolves, maybe you could add that to your reading list (although I imagine it’s quite long already!)xx
    http://lilywight.com/2013/02/13/a-present-from-anne-rice-the-wolf-gift-matt-bomer-christian-grey/

    Like

Leave a Reply

