Recommend It Monday–Servant of the Bones by Anne Rice and Celebrity in Death by J.D. Robb

I have started Servant of the Bones by Anne Rice, but I’m not finished with it yet.  I blame my academic schedule.  So far, I’m enjoying it.  I’d like to have it finished by Wednesday or so, depending on how much homework I get saddled with tomorrow.

I did finish Celebrity in Death by J.D. Robb, though.  It is the 34th “In Death” novel I’ve read, and I have to tell you, I’m not going to tire of them anytime soon.  Delusion in Death is the next one on my list and Robb has Calculated in Death coming out sometime this month, if it’s not out already.  I really, really, really hope they never make a movie of this series (and one was in development previously but has been dropped at this time) because they will screw it up.  They always do.  The movies never capture the magic of the books, and sometimes that’s ok, but sometimes you end up with Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers with me sitting in the middle of the theater in full-on nerdrage, spittle flying, all but screaming, “That didn’t happen.  That didn’t happen.  They didn’t have to convince the Ents of anything! WHERE THE <expletive> DID THOSE ELVES COME FROM?!?!?!”  If you were in that showing, I apologize.  It would end up like Sahara by Clive Cussler: great book, mediocre movie.

2 comments on “Recommend It Monday–Servant of the Bones by Anne Rice and Celebrity in Death by J.D. Robb

  1. Lori Hicks says:

    I have to agree with you there on all counts. Sahara was a pretty cool book and they really messed the movie up. But for me, that’s the way it always is, because no film movie can come close to the one that reading the book puts in my head.

    Like

  2. erinrbritt says:

    Exactly. I don’t mind if they make movies out of books I don’t really want to read, but leave the books I love alone. This is why I refuse to watch the movie versions of IT and Where the Red Fern Grows. Some experiences just shouldn’t be messed with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

