Recommend It Monday

Today is the first post for Recommend It Monday.  Last week, several people gave me a bunch of authors to read.  I made my list, headed to the library, and started reading.  Today’s post will be a bit unusual (I hope) because the author I chose was Christopher Moore and his book Love Bites.  I couldn’t get through it.

Now, this isn’t to say that there were no redeeming qualities about the writing style.  There were a couple of times I found something clever or something make me chortle.  The narrator was a teen girl, Abby Normal, and the writing made me feel like it really was a teen girl.  And therein lies my issue with it.  Its nonstop teen-ness.  For some folks, that may not be an issue, especially if the person is a teen reader.  I am not a teen person, though.  I wasn’t a fan of teens when I was one, and I found myself wanting to smack my 13 year old son just on principle.  I did not smack my son, nor would I.  I’m just saying.

I only got about three chapters in, so I don’t know how the story progresses.  Moore’s book Lamb was recommended to me as one of his great books, so I will be checking into that eventually.  I’m currently torn between forcing myself to finish it and abandoning it entirely.  Reading is one of my pleasures, but if the reading isn’t fun then there isn’t much point.  I will probably abandon it.

Instead, I picked up Celebrity in Death by J.D. Robb.  This is not a recommended author, but I love her work and I adore this series.  If you have not read her, do it.  The first book is Naked in Death.  If you didn’t know, J.D. Robb is a pen name for author Nora Roberts.  The “in Death” series is my favorite of her work, but no matter which name she’s writing under, you’re bound to get a great story.  I read half of my book the first night I started reading it and I can’t wait to get the free time available to finish it.

3 comments on “Recommend It Monday

  1. Lori Hicks says:

    I have all the J.D.Robb books, except for one I think. I’ve been reading the series since she started writing them and I love them. The cool thing about Nora Roberts’ writing, no matter what pen name she uses, is that she writes characters you can care about. I love all the interactions, Eve, Roarke, Peabody, McNap, etc. Not ever author can pull this off, as evidenced by your problem with the teen book. I knew you had good taste in books, but now that I know that you like the “In Death” books, I’d say your taste was excellent. 🙂

    Like

    • erinrbritt says:

      I found her books at a yard sale one summer. I know, who sells books??? Well, people do and I go and buy them and give them new homes. This woman had around 12 paperbacks of the “in Death” series (most of them in order luckily) and I was hooked.

      Like

  2. Pamla says:

    I didn’t like Love bites either. Not my thing at all. But Lamb is hilarious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

