Who Should I Be Reading?

Some of my favorite authors I would have never found if I hadn’t had friends tell me, “You need to read this!”  Piers Anthony and Terry Pratchett.  Clive Cussler and Robert Jordan.  So, who should I be reading?

Leave me recommendations in the comments.  It can be an author in general, or a specific book.  Feel free to tell me why you’re recommending this person or book.  After I start getting some recommendations, I will try to have at least one blog a week about the author/specific book.  If someone suggests an author I already read (and really, this is pretty likely), I’ll do a post about why I love those authors and which works are favorites.

Do not recommend the Twilight series unless you’d like to read a dissertation on why those books are systematically destroying the fabric of human social contact.  Even then, don’t do it.

Except for the above, all genres are welcome.  Yes, even (shudder) romance.  I can’t wait to start getting suggestions. 😀

This entry was posted in General.

20 comments on “Who Should I Be Reading?

  1. sheala says:

    If you’ve never read any Bill Bryson. He has a delightful essay style about travel and life. Start with I’m a Stranger Here Myself or Walk In the Woods. Or Laurie R King. for fiction. two of the few authors I buy, instead of borrow.

    Like

  2. erinrbritt says:

    I have not read either of those authors. I’ll see if my library has them for this weekend. TY!

    Like

  3. paleosusan says:

    Oh! Read Neil Gaimen – start with ‘American Gods’! : )

    Like

  4. erinrbritt says:

    The irony is I follow Neil Gaiman on Twitter but I have not read anything by him. I shall have to remedy that. Thank you!

    Like

  5. I’m reading CM Saunders Rainbow’s End, and I have to say it’s pretty good so far. And defo Bill Bryson – Mother Tongue if you’re interested in language, Made in America if you like and FOR SURE, A short History of Nearly Everything, although that’s for keeping in the bathroom because you should only read it in short bursts…..

    Like

  6. anne rice too? or is that silly? youre bound to have read her, although my favourite is Servant of the Bones…

    Like

  7. Pamla says:

    Erin, I read mostly non-fiction. Carl Sagan, Dawkins, Hawking, Ehrman, etc. And we both know I am heavy into Xianity in Antiquity.
    But, if I were to pick some fiction writers…hmmm… let me see what I have on my Kindle.
    I have:
    The Godfather by Mario Puzo
    Dances with Wolves by Michael Blake
    The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
    A lot by Dickens, the Bronte sisters, Jane Austin.
    oh… the only romance novel I ever liked: Ashes in the Wind by Kathleen Woodiwiss (sp?)
    Oh, my favorite comedy writer, Christopher Moore. I save him for when I need a good bit of quirky humor.
    Then of course there is IT by Stephen King. Some of his work is a bit demented and longwinded at times, but I believe this is his best work by far.
    If you want something very disturbing, When Rabbit Howls by Truddi Chase. Its like Sybil, but much, much more….. everything. A tough read.
    There…I am pretty sure you are going to nix most, if not all, of my suggestions. But, here is my two-cents! much love

    Like

    • erinrbritt says:

      I’m not going to nix anything. Most likely, I’ll move the non-fiction to the back of the list and put the literature on hold indefinately. Not that I don’t like literature, but reading Chaucer in Middle English and Shakespeare, I don’t want to add the big boys to my load. Maybe over summer I can move to lit selections. IT I’ve read, though, so I can do a post on why that book scared the bejeezus out of me.

      Like

  8. Joshua S. (Asher) says:

    Christopher Moore! done and done

    Like

  9. Brit says:

    You should browse our reading room. Seriously–Oh and read some Terry Pratchett. He’s humorous and insightful. His work is also largely featured in our reading room. 🙂

    Like

  10. erinrbritt says:

    Here are more suggestions left on my Personal Facebook page: Ray Bradbury’s “Something Wicked This Way Comes”, Roger Zelazny’s “Lord of Light”, Jim Butcher’s “Dresden Files” series, Kim Harrison’s “Rachel Morgan” series, Kevin Hearne’s “Iron Druid” series, Chuck Palahniuk’s “Fight Club”, and Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman’s “Good Omens.” Keep them coming, if you have them.

    Like

  11. Angie Rice says:

    Tana French, Jonathan Safran Foer, A.M. Homes (I just ordered her short story collection “The Safety of Objects” and one of her novels “The End of Alice”), George Saunders, Anne Lamott. That’s all I can think of right now.

    Like

  12. Pamla says:

    It did me as well. I love the characters, how he kept them all straight, how they interacted with each other… how each of the 7 had a particular role, that if it didn’t manifest in childhood, it did when they became adults. IT is my ‘go to’ book. Every couple of years, I re-read it and discover something else.

    Like

  13. chris barrett says:

    For female authors I like Laura Lippman and Tami Hoag – Especially Ashes to Ashes. For a throwback, semi-chauvanist (but not pig-more broken chivalry) Travis McGee series by John D. MacDonald

    Like

Leave a Reply

