Alka-Seltzer to the Rescue!

Huzzah!  I have traveled on the Influenza Express and am standing on the corner of Still Alive and Feeling Better.  Sadly, not everyone who has caught the flu this season can say the same.  In my state of Indiana, the number of flu-related deaths rose to 27 as of Wednesday.  In this age of modern marvels, it’s easy to forget that people still die from the influenza virus.  Elderly people, children, and people with compromised immune systems are at the highest risk for the flu, and it is among these groups that most flu-related deaths occur.  It is disheartening, then, to see medical workers refusing to get vaccinated.  There is even a new vaccine that is coming out for people like me who are allergic to eggs, or for the vegan who refuses the vaccine due to it being cultured in eggs.  And, for the trypanophobes out there, there is even a nasal spray.

Now, I don’t feel very strongly about whether the average person chooses to vaccinate or not.  Even if I wanted to, the new vaccine isn’t available yet, and since I don’t have death on my short list of things to do, I can’t.  I do, however, feel very strongly about medical workers who refuse to vaccinate.  If you work with sick people all day, you should probably make sure you can’t infect them with something that can kill them.  You know, that whole compromised immunity thing.  If you work in a day care, you should probably vaccinate.  If you work in a nursing home, you should probably vaccinate.  The number of deaths I listed earlier is just for my state, and isn’t even updated for today.

So, now that I’ve gotten the didactic portion of the post out of the way, let’s move to the “how to feel human again” part.  Alka-Seltzer Plus Severe Cold and Flu.  Thanks to my pharmacist, I have started taking this horribly wonderful product and, for the first time in almost a week, I don’t feel like curling up in a hole somewhere and dying.  It does not taste good.  It may, in fact, make you feel like pulling a Linda Blair all over the room you took it in.  If you can keep it down, though, it will help.  It took the second dose before I started to really feel better.  Stay healthy, folks, and if you can’t, stay home.

3 comments on “Alka-Seltzer to the Rescue!

  1. Lori Hicks says:

    I have to say it’s wonderful to hear that they are finally getting a flu vaccine that’s made without eggs. I’m not normally allergic to eggs, but I am allergic to the flu vaccine. All sorts of horrible things happen when I get it, the least of which is a chicken egg sized lump at the injection site. That being said, I was a medical worker for years and still tried to get the injections until my allergist forbade me. I believe that anyone who can, and works with the public should get the flu vaccine. It only makes common sense, you don’t want to be spreading around germs to those who already have compromised immune systems as Erin said. I only with the Alka-Seltzer cure would work for me because I’d have to be dead three days to feel better. This crud isn’t the flu, it’s worse than the flu and it has no name.

    Like

    • erinrbritt says:

      They make a nasal spray vaccination. I don’t know if that would be helpful or not, but it would eliminate problems at the injection site because there is no injection site. I don’t know if the eggless vaccine will be in nasal spray form or not, though. It’s something you can always ask your doctor about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

